25 Poorest Countries In The World

#9 – Guinea

The official name of Guinea is the Republic of Guinea. Guinea was previously officially known as the French Guinea. This country is sometimes called Guinea-Conakry to distinguish it from country Guinea-Bissau. The overall territory of Guinea is 245,836 km2 which makes it the 78th largest country of the world. From its 2014 census, 11,628,972 people live in the country. The capital city of Guinea is Conakry.

Although Guinea is one of Africa’s countries with the most abundant minerals, it is one of the poorest countries in the world with its GDP per capita at only $558.

Written by Omer Eren

Originally from Turkey, Omer has dreams of travel, but his work and social life keeps him grounded. When he’s not browsing through National Geographic and the Discovery Channel online, he’s trying new recipes he’s coming across on the Food Network. Once he finds the time, he plans to make his first trip to Rome because Italian cuisine is his favorite.